Qt 5.15 is now commercial LTS only

All things Programming
Post Reply
User avatar
Naib
Site Admin
Posts: 928
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 2:20 am

Qt 5.15 is now commercial LTS only

Post by Naib »

https://lists.qt-project.org/pipermail/ ... 40798.html

Basically any bugsfixes for >5.15 will not be available to anyone not paying.
6.0 is the only version now available and it is a dumpster at the moment.


I am presently porting my Qt4 to Qt5 after 10years (and 5years before that gtk to qt) and now this
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter

Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
User avatar
otw-refugee
Director of Sandbags
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 12:01 pm
Location: Dallas area

Re: Qt 5.15 is now commercial LTS only

Post by otw-refugee »

It's not like it will quit working, just no bug fixes/enhancements, at least for free.
Understanding is a three edged sword: your side, their side, and the truth.

Local portage repo, opentmpfiles copy
List of wayland apps/compositors
saellaven
Bride Kidnapping Expert
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 10:15 pm

Re: Qt 5.15 is now commercial LTS only

Post by saellaven »

Goodbye QT... everything will be fine for a little while, but it's only a matter of time before it's crusty enough that it starts to bitrot.

The sad part, is I feel like GTK derailed itself with frequent breakages for a good part of GTK 3.x.

Throw in Wayland and I swear everything fdo touches turns to crap.
User avatar
antae
Director of Sandbags
Posts: 431
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:49 am

Re: Qt 5.15 is now commercial LTS only

Post by antae »

Naib wrote: Tue Jan 05, 2021 12:47 am I am presently porting my Qt4 to Qt5 after 10years (and 5years before that gtk to qt) and now this
Have you tried Tk? Tk seems solid and stable, so stable so it does not evolve at all. It is hardcoded into python like a stone monument to industrial design. Obviously, it will outlive humanity.
My opinion ^_^ may differ from yours. That's OK. Difference makes us humans, not robots.
User avatar
cokey
Extreme Unicyclist
Posts: 1580
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 11:24 pm
Location: UK

Re: Qt 5.15 is now commercial LTS only

Post by cokey »

Naib wrote: Tue Jan 05, 2021 12:47 am https://lists.qt-project.org/pipermail/ ... 40798.html

Basically any bugsfixes for >5.15 will not be available to anyone not paying.
6.0 is the only version now available and it is a dumpster at the moment.


I am presently porting my Qt4 to Qt5 after 10years (and 5years before that gtk to qt) and now this
Time to go back to gtk... like everyone else 5 years ago 😎
User avatar
otw-refugee
Director of Sandbags
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 12:01 pm
Location: Dallas area

Re: Qt 5.15 is now commercial LTS only

Post by otw-refugee »

Gtk is in no better boat, it's about to release 4.0 and knowing gnome/gtk folks it'll be incompatible with gtk3.

I'm sure the qt folks are rushing the 6.0 branch just because there's a new version of gtk coming along and they don't want the perception that they trying to not be competitive. In both cases I prefer quality product of a half-baked early release product, but they ain't listening to me. :lol:
Understanding is a three edged sword: your side, their side, and the truth.

Local portage repo, opentmpfiles copy
List of wayland apps/compositors
awillserver
Sanitation Engineer
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 5:55 am

Re: Qt 5.15 is now commercial LTS only

Post by awillserver »

otw-refugee wrote: Tue Jan 05, 2021 11:11 am In both cases I prefer quality product of a half-baked early release product, but they ain't listening to me. :lol:
Who are they listening to then? What paid developer is going to be happy with the absymal quality of qt6?
Post Reply